Meet the Staff – Katie

katie

Many of you will remember that we posted an advertisement for new staff on the blog a few weeks ago and some of you may have applied for the positions yourself. Well now the wait is over and we’re ready to introduce to you some of our lovely new Emporia employees!

This week we’re chatting to the very lovely Katie who has just finished her A levels and is looking to get some experience in the real world before she heads off to university next September. She has a passion for colour and all things bright, and we think she’ll fit in just fine here.

Who are you and what is your position at Emporia?
My name is Katie, I’ve just finished school and now I’m working as a sales assistant at Emporia.

When did you start?
I started working at the shop on 8th October, less than a week after I returned home after backpacking through North India and Nepal, so there was no time to rest – straight into a new job and so far I love it!

What made you think you would fit in at Emporia? What have you been doing since you started?
From a young age I have always been creative, whether it be drawing, painting or making things – I joined ‘sewing club’ in primary school and haven’t stopped stitching since! Emporia is a lovely place to work as everyone is so passionate about crafts, making it a wonderful environment to be in with like-minded, arty people. So far, I’ve been familiarising myself with the products and getting to grips with how Emporia functions so I’m learning a lot as well as painting a lot for the new window display. There’s always something to be done and I love to be busy.

What else do you do with your time? Do you have another job, go to college or look after kids? 
I spend most days at Emporia but when I finish, I spend my evenings tutoring English and Spanish to children from primary school up to GCSE level. They’re great subjects to tutor as they both involve lots of discussions and imagination. In my free time, I do henna tattooing and I also love music so try to go to a concert once a month – this month is U2!

doorstop

Which crafts do you like to do? Tell us about something you’ve made recently that you’re proud of.
I’m more of a sewer than a knitter, and I like sketching from time to time. I’m currently trying to improve my watercolour technique so we’ll have to wait to see if I’m improving. My most recent creation is a door stop I made for my mum, getting out the sewing machine whenever I was home alone so it would be a surprise. It’s lovely to be able to make something that is useful as well as decorative.

Are there any fabrics in the shop that have caught your eye? 
There are some beautiful floral fabrics and I want to have a go at making some sort of garment with them. With winter coming, everything in the shops seem to be dark and dull so I want to go against the high street and make something bright and different for this season. I’m yet to make a pair of trousers from scratch so maybe I need to challenge myself and be more adventurous with my sewing.

Are there any crafts you would like to learn?
The circle skirt class has inspired me to improve my sewing using patterns as I’ve made my own in the past but only for very simple designs. There are some vintage patterns on sale for a shift dress which I am keen to try, perhaps this is the perfect time to make a Christmas present for my mum who still loves receiving handmade gifts.

Christmas is just around the corner and there are bound to be loads of festive projects on the go with customers and staff. What are you looking forward to making/doing in the shop in the coming months?
Decorating the shop and helping customers choose various fabrics and crafty components will be great fun and I can’t wait to get involved with Christmas workshops and classes going on at Emporia. I’m looking forward to making decorations myself and getting creative with everything to do with Christmas!

Thanks Katie, we’re super pleased you’ve decided to come and work with us in our lovely new shop, and we’re sure you’ll be a very welcome addition to the staff. So if you’re in the shop and see a face you’ve not met before, say hello and have a chat with Katie about what you’re planning on making with your Emporia purchases.

Coming soon – meet the other new members of the team!

Leave a Reply

