Interview with Jenni Rogers

braceletturquoise

This week we take some time to talk to one of our newer crafters, Jenni Rogers, who makes the most stunning silver jewellery. Having spent large amounts of her time travelling the globe and discovering new ways of life, Jenni settled on a career in jewellery making with silver and precious stones after she had her daughter. Take a look at her fantastic designs and read about how she goes about making them:

Who are you and what do you do?
My name is Jenni Rogers and I make jewellery for living.

How did you get into crafting?
My partner and I went travelling and ended up in Nepal where we got really sick. After a year in Asia I would have thought our tummies would have been up to the local food, but no! So we spent a few weeks sitting in a garden chilling and buying lapis, turquoise and Tigers eye and experimenting with making jewellery. Years later I started making Swarovski jewellery and taught myself the basics. From there I went on an adult education course a few hours a week and learnt silversmithing techniques.

amoniteearrings

Who and what inspires you to make your designs?
Me, really – when I sit down and look at the metals, that’s when I start feeling inspired. And, of course the stones I use.

When did you decide to make the leap from making for friends and family to creating your own business?
It just happened, there was no decision really. I just started selling to mates, then went to a local fete and put my duvet cover on a table and got it all out (how bad is that?!) and it just progressed naturally.

bracelets

What five things would you say were essential when you set up your craft business?
Well, with anything you do, you have to have passion: there’s no point in doing something day in day out unless you’re passionate about what you’re doing. Cash, determination, and being prepared to work seven days a week. I can’t think of a fifth!

Which crafters/artists/designers do you most admire?
Anyone who makes anything beautiful to the eye. If you smile when you see the craft, whatever it may be, it’s done its job.

earrings

Name three of your most popular designs.
Small pendants, hammered bangles and reticulated rings. I personally love the stone necklaces which encorporate things like African opal, turquoise, ruby and sapphire.

If you weren’t a jeweller what would you be doing with your time?
No idea! Before I started making jewellery I was packing parachutes for a living at Headcorn airfield, where I also ran a veggie cafe later on. I then went travelling the world with my partner Chris who is a skydiving instructor. I was getting pretty fed up with that and was booked on a course to go and train with Monty Roberts on a horse whispering course, when I found out I was pregnant when we were in Malaysia and it all stopped. When my daughter was three I started making jewellery again, she’s now 15.

bracelets2

What’s new with your craft for 2016? Tell us about some of the exciting things we can expect to see from you at the Emporia this year.
I’ve been working on some poppy seed head designs recently, which I’m going to turn into cufflinks, rings, earrings and pendants. I plan on using some uncut sapphires and using natural casting techniques this year too. I’ve also been experimenting with merchandising so you can expect to see my market stalls looking a little different this year too.

Jenni’s beautiful silver jewellery has been on sale at Emporia for just over a month now and already it’s proving extremely popular with our customers. If you haven’t been in to take a look in person, then now is the time to do so, and if you’ve already seen what’s on display, then fear not as new pieces will be arriving in April.

Leave a Reply

