Interview with Scott Randall of Hairyhand

chevyguvara

This week we take a little time to talk to Scott, the man behind the creative Hairyhand label, who has recently stocked up the Emporia rails with a range of printed children and adult’s clothes. Have a read and see just what inspires Scott, how his career developed and why he would be spending his days sat in a wood cabin if he wasn’t out there being creative.

Who are you and what do you do?
I’m Scott Randall aka Hairyhand Creative Agency, Creative Director, Art Director, Designer & Illustrator, Commercial Artist, and ‘Hairyhand’ is me as a solo designer/crafter/artist, all my personal stuff. Whereas Hairyhand Creative Agency produces ‘Creative’ for clients who require marketing services, so that can be any aspect of Branding, Advertising etc.

poloshirt

How did you get into illustrating?
I developed the ability to draw and model make when i was at primary school and I suppose the drive to create stuff has always been there.

Who and what inspires you to create?
I suppose having a creative brain I have a natural desire to ‘create’. Also, you could say that ‘problems’ inspire me to create.

Which crafters/artists/designers do you most admire?
Hard to say as it feels like my brain is totally saturated with work from the last 20 years, but I would say that I admire anyone who can come up with new ideas that actually work. A lot of my creative thinking has been greatly influenced by a creative agency called MotherLondon. I was also inspired by the work of Dan Flavin, a while back. He did lots of installations with neon tubes. And you could say that the stencil designs on my t-shirts are inspired by the likes of Banksy.

chevygreen

When did you decide to make the leap from making for friends and family to creating your own business?
I made the leap in 2008. I was unemployed having taken a year out from work to get married and start a family, so needed to earn some money. I was aware that advertising is apparently a ‘young man’s game’ and at the tender age of 33/34, it would be tough, so rather than wait for someone to employ me, I decide to work for myself.

What five things would you say were essential when you set up your business?
A business plan – I regret not creating one, but at the time it seemed like I had to just get on and do. Funding.
Drive and determination. Ability.

Name three of your most popular designs.
Commercially, I suppose the Wonderbra advert I created as part of One Minute briefs – that got me a Chip Shop Awards nomination. The Chevy Guevara, Washroom Antics and the Evel Kenieval t-shirt designs are popular.

washroom

If you weren’t a designer/creative/artist what would you be doing with your time?
Chopping wood, living in a wood cabin.

Do you run any workshops or take part in any groups?
No, but I’m thinking of running some sort of design/advertising workshops, although I need to decide exactly how they would work. Every now and then I or the agency takes part in OneMinuteBriefs which is a great way to generate content for social channels. Every day a brief is set by @OneMinuteBriefs to advertise a random, generic product e.g. umbrellas or coffee. You’re then meant to come up with an idea to advertise it in just one minute. This can be an advert for a poster of any type of marketing execution. But the truth is, even though it can be done, I don’t think anyone actually spends just a minute.

honey

What’s new with your craft for 2016/17? Tell us about some of the exciting things we can expect to see from you in the shop this year and next.
I’m looking at getting a series of limited edition prints produced for some new/some existing t-shirt designs. I’m looking at turning the Chevy Design into a print, there’s also another design that’s not been published yet called Dinner’s Ready (Hi Honey, I’m Home) that I ‘m looking at getting turned into a print.

Thanks Scott! You can get your hands on Scott’s funky merchandise at Emporia now, with more exciting prints and designs coming soon.

Leave a Reply

